Beginning in 1901, these annual prestigious awards have been provided to outstanding scientists, humanitarians, and writers 609 times to 975 people and organizations.

To date, 114 literature prizes have been awarded. They are for an author’s body of work, rather than one specific book. Included are novelists, playwrights, poets, and even musicians. Starting with the first American to win, we will examine works of five authors who have been so honored. With informal lectures and class discussions, we will assess the styles and themes of these varied but outstanding wordsmiths. They are (in order of publication) Dodsworth by Sinclair Lewis, Lord of the Flies by William Golding, The Winter of Our Discontent by John Steinbeck, The Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro, and Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee. (While the public library has copies, they can be purchased from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Thriftbooks or Note: Please read Dodsworth for the first class. No class: 6/20 & 7/4.